Mid-Point Review: Marry Him If You Dare

Marry_Him_If_You_Dare

Marry Him If You Dare is a South Korean drama currently airing on KBS every Monday and Tuesday. Its’ genre falls under romantic comedy and time travel fantasy. This drama stars Yoon Eun Hye, Choi Myung Gil, Lee Dong Gun, Jung Yong Hwa and Han Chae Ah. It is a story about Na Mi Rae (Choi Myung Gil) a woman from 2038, who travels back in time to 2013 to meet her younger self (Yoon Eun Hye) to prevent her from marrying Kim Shin (Lee Dong Gun) and create a different path for her to live. I’ve watched the first 6 episodes and I am enjoying it so far. It’s an easy watch with charming leads and the whole concept for the drama is very intriguing from the get-go.

The Good:

  • Jung Yong Hwa! The main reason I am watching this drama!! I must say, I think this is the most comfortable role I have seen Yong Hwa act in and his acting has improved tremendously compared to his past dramas (Heartstrings, You’re Beautiful). I am glad he rejected the role from Heirs and took on this project because I personally think this character Park Se Joo really suits him. He just does the sweet, caring, boy-next-door type so well and with so much charm. He has an adorable chemistry with Yoon Eun Hye and that look/stare he gives her makes fan-girls swoon and melt into a pile of goo. I’ll be honest, I actually went back to re-watch episode scenes with him in it and more than once I might add. Shameless fan girl right here, yup that’s me!
  • Yoon Eun Hye’s character Na Mi Rae is someone I totally root for. During the first episode when Ahjumma Mi Rae told her younger self off about how she was living her life and just running away from making better life choices. Younger Mi Rae broke down and said she was scared and doesn’t have the confidence to make changes to improve her life. It really hit home for me that scene because I understand how she feels and I’ve been going through the same emotions the past year and realizing I too lack the confidence to follow my dreams and make changes. However, throughout the episodes Mi Rae finally starts to charge and tries to improve her life and follow her dreams of being a television broadcast writer. That itself is worth rooting for.
  • The whole concept of going back in time to change the outcome of your future is really unique and not something I’ve seen done in a dramas. Also even with Ahjumma Mi Rae meddling with everyone’s affairs, the people who are supposed to cross paths will eventually meet no matter what. So it makes you think that fate and destiny is predetermined and no matter how much you try to change it, in the end it will happen, regardless if its a good or bad outcome. This is what makes fate and destiny so scary. Of course with the meddling, we have yet to see what the consequences will be for those actions and what will be the final outcome in the end, which can be open to many possibilities as this is a fantasy drama.
  • We get to learn more about the broadcasting world and see how it works. Already you tell it’s a stressful job with irregular hours and lots of sacrifice of ones’ personal time. As we saw Writer Bae saying she missed her son’s graduation(?) because of work deadlines. I imagine that when a big story comes up, you have to drop everything to get the story covered and on air. It’s interesting to see what goes behind the scenes of television shows.

The Not-So-Good:

  • Yoon Eun Hye’s awful perm! The hair color is quite nice but that frizzy ahjumma perm needs to go, hope she gets rid of it soon, possibly through a makeover(?), which is always fun.
  • Three words, the dreaded Second Lead Syndome! Once again I have caught this terrible disease mainly found in dramaland. I know, I know… I should know better by now than to contract SLS after my years of drama watching, but who can resist Yonghwa? It’s so cruel to always root for the second guy even though he had no zero chance of ever ending up with the female lead. Be still my heart! I hope at least he’ll end up with Yoo Kyung whom he was originally supposed to be with.

As you can see there are more pros than cons for the drama, so I definitely think this is a drama worth checking out, especially if you’re a fan of any of the leads. Time traveling dramas was a big trend last year, but I can say this drama is pretty different in terms of concept and execution compared to previous ones of the same genre. What’s ya waiting for? Go watch it and drool over my bias Yonghwa! Enjoy ❤

Leave a Reply

